Deepwood Museum and Gardens

Salem Oregon is home to the Deepwood Museum and Gardens, a historic house and property made into a museum and preserved for all to experience. Here is a little more information about this beautiful place:

About Deepwood Museum and Gardens

The Deepwood Museum and Gardens was originally a home built in 1894 that has now been named a historic building and become a museum. The property features the Queen Anne style house sitting on a five acre park that is open to the public. The park includes the formal gardens, greenhouse, nature trails, and the carriage house, which is original to when the home was built. Here are a few of the aspects of the park and Deepwood property explained deeper:

  • The Formal Gardens:

    Added in early 1930 by Alice Brown, the Formal Gardens are a beautiful place to visit. The gardens are divided into several different “rooms” or areas by hedges. Here are a few of the specific gardens: The Great Room, the Tea House Garden, and the Scroll Garden. These areas can be reserved/rented for weddings and other events.

  • Yew Park:

    This is an open area available to the community with picnic tables and beautiful landscaping. This park is on the outside of the Deepwood Museum and Gardens area.

  • The Greenhouse: The Greenhouse also serves as an Information Kiosk. The exocitc plants within the greenhouse are kept and maintained by the Deepwood Gardeners.

  • Nature Area: Over half of the total property is this natural area with a trail learning to Pringle Creek and a native garden.

While the parks are free for the public to stroll and visit, the museum home has an admissions fee and requires visitors to set up a tour to enter the home.


The Deepwood home was designed by William C. Knighton, an American architect. The home was commissioned to be built for Dr. Luke A. Port in 1893 and the project was finished in 1894. The Dr. Port and his wife only lived in the home for 16 months before selling it in 1895.
From 1895 to 1924, the home was owned and resided in by the Bingham family. George G. Bingham was an attorney and a professor at Willamette University for 30 years. George and his wife Willie lived in the home until they both passed away in 1924, when their daughter sold the property.
The last family to live in the home before it became the Deepwood Museum and Gardens was the Brown Family. Clifford and Alice Brown renovated the home while keeping a lot of the original design features. Clifford died in 1927 and Alice continued to live in the home until 1968. It was Alice Brown who hired a landscape team to create the Formal Gardens that are still present at the Deepwood Museum and Gardens.
In 1971, the City of Salem bought the property that is now the Deepwood Museum and Gardens. In 1974 a nonprofit was founded to manage the property and preserve the house and gardens. This nonprofit is called the Friends of Deepwood.

While in Salem

Whether you are visiting Salem Oregon or are a resident of the city, there are a few things you have to check out while in the Salem area. Make sure to visit Minto-Brown Island Park for a fantastic outdoor experience. Go on one of the many hikes or trails throughout the park.


Photo credit: Photo by Obsidianphotog @

Call Now ButtonCall Us